Public Document Pack southend-on-sea Borough council

Meeting of The Council

Date: Tuesday, 25th January, 2022 Place: Council Chamber - Civic Suite

Present: Councillor M Borton (Chair)

Councillors B Beggs, M Berry, H Boyd, A Bright, K Buck, S Buckley, L Burton, P Collins, J Courtenay, T Cowdrey, T Cox, M Davidson, A Dear, M Dent, F Evans, K Evans, N Folkard, D Garne, D Garston,

S George, I Gilbert, S Habermel, T Harp, B Hooper, D Jarvis,

A Jones, M Kelly, J Lamb, A Line, D McGlone, K Mitchell, A Moring, J Moyies, C Mulroney, D Nelson, C Nevin, K Robinson, L Salter, I Shead, M Stafford, A Thompson, C Walker, N Ward, J Warren and

P Wexham

Start/End Time: 5.00 pm - 5.40 pm

638 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Beck, Cowan, Terry, Wakefield and Woodley.

639 Declarations of Interest

All Members of the Council – Minute 640 (Honorary Alderman Awards) and Minute 641 (Freedom of the Borough Awards) - Non-pecuniary interest – in so far as they may know (or have served on the Council) with one or more of the recipients for Honorary Alderman and Freedom of the Borough.

640 Honorary Alderman Awards

Resolved:

That, pursuant to Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman be conferred upon the past Members listed below in recognition of their eminent services to the Council:

Mr Nigel Holdcroft Mr Ian Robertson

641 Freedom of the Borough Awards

Resolved:

That, pursuant to Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Freedom of the Borough of Southend-on-Sea be conferred upon Mr David Norman MBE and Mr Garry Lowen in recognition of their eminent and outstanding service they have rendered to the Borough of Southend-on-Sea.

Chair:

